collegium emmaus

coordinated by the study center for faith and society

Who we are

The Collegium Emmaus is a community of theological researchers who are committed to an in-depth collaboration on a research programme as friends from various ecclesial backgrounds.

The community wishes to model and encourage a renewed kind of academic culture: dialogical, ecumenical, communal. We believe that theology is fruitfully done in the interplay between academic, ecclesial and social perspectives; therefore, members of the Collegium are engaged in dialogue with partners from academia, the church, and the wider society.

Beyond their research, they are open to participating, where possible, in activities and events that foster the renewal of the church and serve the common good.

We are a voluntary association of researchers from the Swiss universities of Basel, Bern, Geneva, Fribourg, and Zurich, both professors and doctoral/post-doctoral researchers.

Our aims

  1. Fostering a theological learning community that is intellectually stimulating and spiritually sustaining.
  2. Wholistically forming people for future leadership in church and society.
  3. Conducting theological research (and teaching) that serves the renewal of the church and society.

members of the board / staff


Dr. Walter Dürr
Member of the Board

Director Studienzentrum für Glaube und Gesellschaft
University of Fribourg


Prof. Dr. Ralph Kunz
Member of the Board

Professor for Practical Theology
University of Zurich


Dr. Silvianne Aspray
Member of the Board

British Academy
Postdoctoral Fellow
Cambridge University


Prof. Dr. Benjamin Schliesser
Member of the Board

Professor of New Testament
University of Bern


Oliver Dürr
Administrative Coordinator

Doctoral Assistant
Co-worker at the Study Center for Faith and Society
University of Fribourg



Prof. Dr. Andrea Bieler

Professor for Practical Theology
University of Basel


Prof. Dr. Christophe Chalamet

Professor of Systematic Theology
University of Geneva


Prof. Dr. Barbara Hallensleben

Professor of Dogmatic Theology
University of Fribourg


Prof. Dr. Thomas Schumacher 

Professor of New Testament
University of Fribourg


Prof. Dr. em. Guido Vergauwen

Professor emeritus of Fundamental Theology
University of Fribourg

international advisory board


Prof. Dr. Miroslav Volf
International Advisor

Henry B. Wright Professor of Systematic Theology
Founding Director for the Yale Center for Faith and Culture
Yale Divinity School


Prof. Kenda Creasy Dean
International Advisor

Mary D. Synnott Professor of Youth, Church, and Culture
Princeton Theological Seminary


Prof. N. T. Wright
International Advisor

School of Divinity Professor
University of St. Andrews

Rt. Revd. Dr. Graham Tomlin
International Advisor

President of St. Mellitus College
Bishop of Kensington

Prof. Dr. Michael Herbst
International Advisor

Director of Research Institute for Evangelism and Church Development
Theological Faculty
University of Greifswald

international cooperations

Yale Center for Faith and Culture
Click here for more information

St. Mellitus College London
Click here for more information

Research Institute for Evangelism and Church Development Greifswald
Click here for more information


If you want to contact the Collegium Emmaus for further information or with any other concerns feel free to write an email to the administrative coordinator:


Oliver Dürr


The office of the Collegium Emmaus is at:


Universität Fribourg
Av. de l’Europe 20
CH-1700 Fribourg

Office 5221
Tel: +41 (0)26 300 74 25